Malice Domestic Mystery Convention
About Malice awards Grants Convention Program Ad-specs and rates Newsletter Contact
Hotel Registration Program Book Attendees Authors Dealers Sponsors


List of previous grant winners

The William F. Deeck-Malice Domestic Grants Program for Unpublished Writers will award grants to two unpublished writers in the malice domestic genre at Malice Domestic 27 in May 2015. Founded in 1993 by Beth Foxwell, a former Malice Domestic Board Chair, and recently named for the late William F. Deeck, a long-time supporter and friend of Malice Domestic, Ltd. and an advocate for unpublished writers, The William F. Deeck-Malice Domestic Grants Program for Unpublished Writers is designed to foster quality malice domestic literature and to help the next generation of malice domestic authors get their first work published.

Malice Domestic, Ltd. awards the grant based on a demonstrated commitment to the malice domestic genre. Each grant may be used to offset registration, travel, or other expenses related to attendance at a writers' conference or workshop within a year of the date of the award (no later than May 2016). In the case of nonfiction, the grant may be used to offset research expenses. Each grant currently includes a $1,500 award plus a comprehensive registration for the following year's convention and two nights' lodging at the convention hotel, but does not include travel to the convention or meals.

A Definition of the Malice Domestic Genre: The genre is loosely described as mystery stories of the Agatha Christie type—i.e., “traditional mysteries.” These works usually feature no excessive gore, gratuitous violence, or explicit sex.

Eligibility Requirements: Writers must not have published a book, short story, or dramatic work in the mystery field, either in print, electronic, or audio form. Members of the Malice Domestic, Ltd.'s Board of Directors and their families are ineligible to apply. Previous winners of the Malice Domestic Grants for Unpublished Writers are ineligible to reapply for the grant. Malice Domestic, Ltd. encourages applications from minority candidates.

Submission Requirements and Deadline: Candidates must submit THREE (3) copies of each of the following required materials to the grants chair at the address given below by the deadline: 1. a resume, which includes the candidate's preferred postal address, e-mail address, and telephone number(s); 2. a typed letter of application explaining the writer's qualifications for the grant and the conference or workshop to be attended or the research to be funded; 3. a letter of reference from someone familiar with the writer's work; and 4. a plot synopsis of no more than 300 words and three CONSECUTIVE chapters of the writer's Malice Domestic-genre book in progress, preferably the first three chapters. In addition, an applicant must be prepared to submit a copy of his/her entire work-in-progress if requested to do so by the Grants Chair.

Deadline for receipt of materials is December 15, 2014. Materials will be accepted between September 15 and December 15, 2014 only, but allowing, of course, for mail sent on December 15 to arrive at the post office box. Candidates for the grant must send their completed applications to:

Harriette Sackler, Grants Chair
Malice Domestic, Ltd.
P.O. Box 8007
Gaithersburg, MD 20898-8007

However, applicants should not send their submissions using "certified/return receipt" or by any other means that requires a signature. Applicants who wish delivery receipt confirmation from the U.S. Postal Service are encouraged to send their submissions either by U.S. Priority Mail with Delivery Confirmation or by U.S. Express Mail with tracking. Malice Domestic, Ltd. will not acknowledge receipt of the materials. Submissions cannot be sent by Federal Express, United Parcel Service (UPS), or other similar delivery services as these services do NOT deliver to U.S. post office boxes.

Address grant questions to:

Application review: Applications will be reviewed and a winner chosen by Malice Domestic, Ltd.'s Board of Directors or its designated representatives. The Board reserves the right to reject any incomplete, inappropriate, or late applications. In the event there are no qualified candidates, the Board reserves the right to make no award at all. The decision of the Malice Domestic, Ltd.'s Board of Directors is final.

Notification: The winners and all other applicants for the grants will be notified in March 2015 of the status of their submissions.

Grant Presentation: The grant winners will be announced at the Malice Domestic 27 convention. Winners will be required to submit—within one year—a report to the Board (via the Grants Chair) on their use of the grant award.


List of Previous Grant Winners

1994: Jeffrey Marks, The Scent of Murder
1995: LeeAnna Lawrence, A Cousin Once Removed
1996: Joan C. Curtis, The Internet Murderer
Sujata Massey, The Salaryman's Wife
1997: Carol Hauswald, Avenging Angels
1998: Marcia Talley, Sing It To Her Bones
Matt Witten, Breakfast at Madeline's
1999: Claire M. Johnson, Murder Underfoot
Anne White, An Affinity for Murder
2000: Susan Wrona Gall, Canvas Shroud
Carolyn Kourofsky, Through a Shooter's Eye
2001: Terry Hoover, Sweet Alice
Kyle Z. Bell, George Washington Died Here
2002: Elizabeth Berry, Inn Sight
2003: Thomas E. Bonsall, Lilac Time
Martha Crites, She Who Listens
G.M. Malliet, Death of a Cozy Writer
2004: Shirley Folwarski, Blood is Stickier Than Holy Water
Heidi Vornbrock Roosa, Hypothesis for Murder
2005: Hilary McGowan, A Cottage with a View
Stacy Leigh Juba, Sign of the Messenger
2006: Joseph W. Richardson, Gideon's Inn
Elizabeth Duncan, Dead Posh
2007: Dawn Dixon Cotter, Faux Finish
Gigi Morrissett Pandian, Artifact
2008: Robin Hewitt, One Sweet Pickle
Linda Reeder, Bricks and Murder
2009: Kimberly Gray, Ghost of a Chance
2010: Patricia A. Gouthro, Lies My Professor Told Me
Stephanie Evans, Standing on the Promises
2011: Robin Templeton, Double Exposure
2012: Sarah E. Bewley, Florida is Burning
Cynthia M. Sabelhaus, Trite but True
2013: Ellen Byron, Reality Checked
Rosemarie and Vince Keenan, Design for Dying


© Malice Domestic Ltd. All Rights Reserved. P.O. Box 8007, Gaithersburg, MD 20898-8007.