Malice Domestic Mystery Convention
About Malice awards Grants Convention Program Ad-specs and rates Newsletter Contact
Hotel Registration Program Book Attendees Authors Dealers Sponsors


View the preliminary 2016 convention program

Malice Domestic Adopts Policy for Program Participation

In order to provide the best possible experience to the fans for whom the convention was created, the Malice Domestic Board of Directors has adopted a policy defining author eligibility for program participation:

Malice Domestic does not guarantee a program slot to any participant.

Malice Domestic will only offer author assignments to traditionally published authors or those who have been nominated for established mystery awards.

Traditionally published authors include those who—

1.  Did not pay any costs associated with the publication of their books.

2.  Are published by a company that—

            a.   publishes at least three authors other than the publisher, members of the publisher’s family, or staff of the publishing company. (Authors publishing under multiple pseudonyms count as a single author.)

            b.  does not guarantee publication of all submissions and provides editorial support to its authors.

Established mystery awards include the:  Agatha, Anthony, Arthur Ellis, Barry, Dilys, Edgar, Hammett, Lefty, Macavity, Shamus, and the Dagger awards presented by the British Crime Writers Association. 

If you have any questions about the Program for Malice Domestic or need assistance, please contac


© Malice Domestic Ltd. All Rights Reserved. P.O. Box 8007, Gaithersburg, MD 20898-8007.