Malice Domestic Mystery Convention
About Malice awards Grants Convention Program Ad-specs and rates Newsletter Contact
Hotel Registration Program Book Attendees Authors Dealers Sponsors


Established in 1989, Malice Domestic® is an annual "fun fan" convention in metropolitan Washington, D.C., saluting the traditional mystery—books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie.

The genre is loosely defined as mysteries which contain no explicit sex or excessive gore or violence.

Malice Domestic Ltd., a nonprofit corporation (501)(C)(3) with tax-exempt status, was incorporated in 1992 and is governed by an all-volunteer board of directors. The logo and name are trademarked.

If you have questions or need further information about Malice Domestic, please contact Shawn Reilly, Public Relations, at

Future Dates for Malice Domestic Convention:
Malice Domestic 29: April 28 - 30, 2017 at Hyatt, Bethesda, MD



The Malice Domestic Award for Lifetime Achievement is given in recognition of a significant body of distinguished work in the Malice Domestic genre. The award is bestowed by the Malice Domestic Board of Directors.

The Poirot Award is presented to honor individuals other than writers who have made outstanding contributions to the Malice Domestic genre. The award is bestowed by the Malice Domestic Board of Directors and presented at the Malice Domestic conference. The Poirot Award is not an annual award.

Convention Guest of Honor Toastmaster Fan Guest of Honor Malice Remembers Lifetime Achievement Poirot Chair Amelia Award
Malice I
Barbara Mertz Robert Barnard Ellen Nehr Agatha Christie None None Mary Morman None
Malice II
Patricia Moyes Sharyn McCrumb Phyllis Brown Dorothy L. Sayers Phyllis A. Whitney None Mary Morman None
Malice III
Charlotte MacLeod Simon Brett Janet Rudolph Mary R. Rinehart None None Gerry Letteney None
Malice IV
Aaron Elkins Mary Higgins Clark Bill Deeck Margery Allingham None None Gerry Letteney None
Malice V
Anne Perry Nancy Pickard Mary Morman William Shakespeare None None Ron McMillen None
Malice VI
Dorothy Salisbury Davis Dorothy Cannell Jim Huang Edgar Allan Poe Mignon G. Eberhart None Ron McMillen None
Malice VII
Ellis Peters Edward Marston Dean James Ngaio Marsh None None Ron McMillen None
Malice VIII
Peter Lovesey Margaret Maron Shirley Beaird Josephine Tey Mary Stewart None Beth Foxwell None
Malice IX
Carolyn G. Hart Joan Hess Judy & Jack Cater Richard & Francis Lockridge Emma Lathen None Beth Foxwell None
Malice X
Robert Barnard Katherine Hall Page Maureen Collins Ellery Queen Charlotte MacLeod None Carol Whitney None
Malice XI
Mary Higgins Clark M.D. Lake Carol Harper John Dickson Carr Patricia Moyes None Carol Whitney None
Malice XII
Simon Brett Eileen Dreyer Sheila Martin Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Dick Francis None Cindy Silberblatt None
Malice XIII
Margaret Maron Rita Mae Brown Patti Ruocco Rex Stout Mildred Wirt Benson None Cindy Silberblatt None
Malice XIV
Edward Marston Annette & Martin Meyers Gerry Letteney G.K. Chesterton Tony Hillerman None Cindy Silberblatt None
Malice XV
Barbara D'Amato Parnell Hall Donna Beatley Agatha Christie Elizabeth Peters David Suchet Tom O'Day None
Malice XVI*
Dorothy Cannell Jan Burke Linda Pletzke Erle Stanley Gardner Marion Babson Ruth Cavin & Thomas Dunne Tom O'Day None
Malice XVII
Joan Hess Carole Nelson Douglas Anne Reece Ellis Peters H.R.F. Keating Angela Lansbury Tom O'Day None
Malice XVIII
Katherine Hall Page Kate Grilley Kay McCarty Craig Rice Robert Barnard Doug Greene Verena Rose None
Malice XIX
Rochelle Krich Kate Grilley Lee Mewshaw Georgette Heyer Carolyn G. Hart None Verena Rose None
Malice XX
Charlaine Harris
Lindsey Davis**
Dan Stashower Elizabeth Foxwell/Ron & Jean McMillen All Those Previously Honored Peter Lovesey Janet Hutchings & Linda Landrigan Verena Rose None
Malice 21
Nancy Pickard Elaine Viets Laura Hyzy Charlotte MacLeod Anne Perry Kate Stine & Brian Skupin Louise Leftwich None
Malice 22
Parnell Hall Rhys Bowen Tom & Marie O'Day Ed Hoch Mary Higgins Clark William Link Verena Rose None
Malice 23
Carole Nelson Douglas Donna Andrews Anne Murphy Lyn Hamilton Sue Grafton Janet Rudolph Verena Rose None
Malice 24
Jan Burke Dana Cameron Ruth Sickafus Tony Hillerman Simon Brett Lee Goldberg Verena Rose Barbara Mertz
Malice 25
Laurie R. King
Peter Robinson**
Laura Lippman Cindy Silberblatt Dick Francis Aaron Elkins None Verena Rose Carolyn Hart
Malice 26
Kathy Lynn Emerson Earlene Fowler Audrey Reith Reginald Hill Dorothy Cannell,
Joan Hess & Margaret Maron
Tom Schantz Verena Rose None

Malice 27

Charles Todd
Ann Cleeves**
Toni L.P. Kelner William L. Starck Patricia Moyes Sara Paretsky None Verena Rose None
Malice 28
Victoria Thompson Hank Phillippi Ryan Linda Smith Rutledge Sarah Caudwell Katherine Hall Page Barbara Peters & Robert Rosenwald Verena Rose Douglas Greene
Malice 29
Elaine Viets Marcia Talley Luci Zahray Bill Deeck Charlaine Harris Martin Edwards Verena Rose  

* A special category for Malice XVI honored Special Fan Ghost of Honor, Carole Ann Nelson
** International Guest of Honor


© Malice Domestic Ltd. All Rights Reserved. P.O. Box 8007, Gaithersburg, MD 20898-8007.